Thursday, December 7, 2006

The Seven Deadly Sins

From my morning reading

The medieval church had seven deadly sins: pride, anger, envy, impurity, gluttony, slothfulness, and avarice. Proverbs 6:16 -19 gives us another version of these sins to consider. Of the seven vices there listed that God hates, five are associated with body parts (eyes, tongue, hands, heart, and feet) and two deal with types of people (liars and troublemakers). All seven vices are equal objects of the Lord's abhorrence, and all of them are taboo for men of God. The proud look reflects the haughtiness within one's soul and is opposed by God. A lying tongue is hateful to Him, for it contradicts the truth. God will avenge murderous hands for He alone is the Lord of life and death. A heart that devises wicked schemes is full of depravity, thus God condemns it. Feet that rush quickly to evil carry out the wicked schemes already devised in the heart. A false witness is odious to God. The one who stirs up dissension among believers destroys harmony and unity. The man whose eyes, hands, or feet perform such deeds has a perverted soul and therefore invites God's censure, not His commendation. What then does God commend? Among the virtues He applauds are humility, truthful speech, preservation of life, pure thoughts, eagerness to do good things, an honest witness, and the cultivation of harmony among believers. Are any of these qualities true of your life?
Dear Lord, please help me to make Your loves my loves and Your hates my hates. Amen.

From God's Man
A Daily Devotional Guide to Christlike Character
Edited by: Don M. Aycock

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts with Thumbnails